My Collection – Photos and Commentary


Worth the wait, I hope: Pencils with animal names (the type of animal, not Fluffy), having animal logos when possible.  I’ve limited it to one per animal, for the most part.


Eberhard Faber’s generic Fish looks like it might be on a platter.



Birds from Wallace Pencil Co:

Reptiles and Amphibians:


Small Mammals:

Large Mammals:


Of all possible animals, who’d have thought that the camel would be the most popular?  These are from makers in five different countries: United States, Japan, Germany, China, and Korea.

Mythical Creatures:

I don’t know what a “suncow” is, but I say it’s a mythical creature.

Finally, we have the Golden ones:

Below are closer views of animal logos.  Click on them for pictures twice as large.

I recently got an iPad and found that large pictures sometimes display with low resolution.

10 responses

  1. BNP

    Nice animal friendly post.

    September 2, 2012 at 6:37 pm

  2. fantastic :-)

    September 3, 2012 at 1:10 am

  3. A great compilation of “animal pencils”. Fantastic!

    September 3, 2012 at 7:34 am

  4. Amazing – thank you for showing!

    September 3, 2012 at 7:54 am

  5. I don’t know why but I absolutely enjoyed this post!

    September 5, 2012 at 12:43 pm

    • I did intend it to have that effect.

      September 5, 2012 at 9:45 pm

  6. Anonymous

    ummm….. WOW! Amazing!

    September 11, 2012 at 4:55 pm

  7. Fred these are truly wonderful I am just writing a little bit about pencils on my blog and hope you dont mind me using an image with a link and a mention of your site. I love pencils and use them every day. I am an artist. Many thanks for showing this wonderful collection. see

    September 15, 2012 at 9:09 am

    • Go ahead. And readers, I typically don’t allow links to other sites in comments, but if a link to mine is in the other site, I usually do.

      September 15, 2012 at 9:28 am

  8. Who knew?!? That’s pretty amazing. I guess there is something out there for everyone, eh?

    September 15, 2012 at 11:28 am

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers