My Collection – Photos and Commentary

Product Number Variation

Occasionally the product number associated with a particular brand of pencil will change with time, such as when Dixon’s Ticonderoga 1386 became 1388. Usually this change is accompanied by an update in design.  But here are a couple of pairs for which only the number is different:  

I suspect that for these, the product number printed on the pencil depended on the manner in which it was sold, for example individually or in a packaged set.

4 responses

  1. Very cool. Are the Desert Tones colored pencils? Great model name. I’d like to hunt down some more stenos, too.

    August 2, 2012 at 12:17 am

    • Graphite. The pencils come in different colors (I also have a yellow and a tan). These are probably meant to be cactus green.

      August 2, 2012 at 10:15 pm

  2. Jada

    I think you may be right. I can’t see any difference. Love the stenos! There’s a nice box of Eagle steno’s on ebay right now. 251120483272
    I would be interested in trading some steno’s with anyone interested.

    August 2, 2012 at 7:17 am

  3. I have light green and golden Steno 🙂

    August 5, 2012 at 6:26 am

Leave a comment