My Collection – Photos and Commentary

Products Inside Mechanicals

Good-quality mechanical pencils with product advertising on them used to be given out by salesmen.  But some of these advertising pencils went further, containing visible samples of actual products inside them!  There were different pencil styles as well as a surprising variety of products —

By observing these items, I learned what sorghum, soy, and chick mash look like.  I can also now recognize Mineral Jig Concentrate if I ever come across it,  although I have no idea what it is.

I had more samples of liquid products, but many of them leaked out or turned to sludge.

4 responses

  1. hen

    Wow – really amazing collection. I love reading your blog and seeing all the rad pencils in your collection.

    July 8, 2011 at 12:06 pm

  2. Matt Mangham

    Yeah, these are great, and once again I’m amazed by the sheer variety you have on hand. How long you been at this again?

    July 8, 2011 at 3:33 pm

    • I’ve been actively collecting pencils for more than 30 years. I started collecting mechanical pencils about 12 years ago, focusing on unusual ones. I got these one or two at a time, along with a lot of other stuff that I didn’t particularly want.

      July 8, 2011 at 5:37 pm

  3. Amazing – I had no idea this type of pencil existed.

    July 9, 2011 at 7:57 am

Leave a Reply

