My Collection – Photos and Commentary

ALPCO

In my previous post, I said that ALPCO on the old British pencil stands for American Lead Pencil Co.  For a long time, I was confident about that connection but couldn’t prove it (not without a web search, anyway).  Then I found this logo on a bill of sale from 1891:

You can make out A, L, P, and CO superimposed in the center.

It is understandable that the British subsidiary of the company would want to downplay “American,” since their pencils were manufactured and sold in England.  Later, the company name was changed to Venus Pencil Co. Ltd., eliminating the problem.  ALPCO brands continued under the Venus name —

Those brands seem to have been intrinsically British; I am not aware of any U.S.-made Fides or Veritas, etc.  The famous American brands Venus and Velvet, meanwhile, were also produced in England.  But for those, ALPCO was not used —

5 responses

  1. There something about US brands made abroad……just love them! Especially those Made in Mexico! I would love to see a selection of US brands made abroad from all countries…hint, hint, wink!

    September 10, 2011 at 7:25 am

  2. Becky

    Hi there , I have just found a alpco pencil called the golfer ! In the end were the rubber would go there is an end of a golf club ! Can you tell me anything about it ?

    September 26, 2013 at 6:37 am

    • Wish I had it! I have newer ones from Venus (England). I’ll exhibit them and similar club-headed pencils in the future.

      September 28, 2013 at 8:04 pm

  3. Patrick Adams

    I have recently encountered a mechanical pencil with a faint “ALPCO New York” engraved on the end cap. The end cap contains leads, and the pencil still advances the lead. It appears to be made of nickeled brass (I’m guessing). Any information about this pencil?

    December 22, 2016 at 5:55 pm

Leave a Reply

