My Collection – Photos and Commentary

I Am a Glutton

I have been a glutton for pencils, that’s for sure.  With this blog, I pause to burp.

I have a soft spot for Japanese pencils.  They are different from American pencils and quite interesting.  You will see them here fairly often.  I gathered many when I lived in Japan in 1992-3.  I have fond memories of walking around different cities and towns, searching for stationery stores.  Many neighborhoods, as well as the main shopping districts, had a store.  Often they were little mom-and-pop (often grandmom-and-grandpop) shops that had been there forever, with some grimy old pencils as well as new ones in the displays.  I imagined that these old pencils stood there, year after year, waiting patiently for… me to come from across the sea and rescue them.  Also intriguing is the fact that Mom and Pop kept trying to sell them.

2 responses

  1. Theresa

    Hi there, Love your pages! I’ve been trying to find a good source for Japanese pencils but have not run across anything…I am probably not looking in the right places. Would you have any advice? Thanks and keep up the GREAT work!
    –Theresa

    May 29, 2011 at 11:58 pm

    • I don’t know a very good place to buy Japanese pencils in the U.S. Tombow Mono and Mitsubishi Uni drafting pencils occasionally appear on ebay, sold from Japan. You might have luck at an independent art-supply store. Or visit Japantown areas in San Francisco or L.A. (But still, I wouldn’t expect much variety.) And then there are Sanrio Surprise stores — at least there were in Hawaii, where I once lived.

      May 30, 2011 at 10:33 pm

Leave a Reply

